Arghavan (2012) 11'00"

Arghavan is written for two pianos.

Excerpt perfprmed by Jialiang Zhu and Pei-chen Chen

Nawruz (2011) 5'30"

Nawruz is written in celebration of Persian New Year. Nawruz won the 2011 Chicago College of Performing Art's Wind Ensemble Composition Competition.

This audio is the complete performance of Nawruz by CCPA Wind Ensemble conducted by Dr. Stephen Squires.  The piece was world-premiered and broadcast on Chicago’s Classical and Folk Music Radio Station (98.7 WFMT).

Universal Brotherhood (2011) 5'40''

Universal Brotherhood is written for SATB choir in three movements (For Love of Me, Reunion With Me, and Unity's Light). This a cappella choir work is written inspired by my visits to Baha'i House of Worship in Wilmette, IL. When I visited the temple, I was deeply moved by the beauty of the architecture and the serene atmosphere of the space. As I sat with my eyes closed, I imagined myself sitting in the crowd and the words of Baha’u’llah were pouring over my head.  There are eighteen quotations of Baha'u'llah's writings integrated into the entrances and alcoves of the Baha'i House of Worship. After my visit, I chose nine of these quotations and set them to music in three movements.

World premier

Universal Brotherhood has recently been selected by MacMillan Singers to be performed at their Contemporary Showcase Concert.

When: February 8, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Where: Grace Church on the Hill,Toronto, ON

Nay Nava (2011) 5'00"

Nay Nava is written for solo alto flute. Nay Nava won the 2011 Timothy Munro (eighth blackbird’s flutist) Solo Flute Composition Competition*.  It will be premiered on his concert, Unanswered Questions, in January 28th 2012 at 7:30 in Ganz Hall, Chicago, IL.

Excerpt I: Forrest Ransburg (c flute)

Excerpt II: Timothy Munro (alto flute)

* This composition contest is in conjunction with the CCPA composition program.

D Confuguem (2011) 90"

D Confuguem is a Mini Double Fugue Collage written for Brass quintet.

Surna (2011) 11'00"

Surna (Zurna) is a duo originally written for Surna (a double-reed woodwind instrument with roosts in Asia and Europe) and cello. I have also created a version for B-flat clarinet and cello.

Excerpts by Blagoj Lamnjov (surna), Sarah Zilonis (cello) and Nick Mula (B-flat clarinet), Sarah Zilonis (cello)

I'll Meet You There (2011) 5'00"

I'll Meet You There is written for horn and fixed media inspired by one of the Jallaludin Rumi's poems.

Excerpt: Rhonda Kremer (horn)

Nourooz (2009) 5'30"

Nourooz is written in two movements (Bahar and Tahvil-e Sal) for oboe, clarinet and four percussionists. I wrote this piece inspired by the tradition of Persian New Year. Nourooz is celebrated every year on 21st of March.

Excerpts by: Chicago College of Performing Arts musicians.

Persian Taste (2010) 6'00"

Persian Taste (Chashni-e Irani) is written for a Persian ensemble including santoor, tar, barbat, kamancheh tombak, and daf.

The Mothers of Peace (2010) 7'00"

The Mothers of Peace is written for chorus and large ensemble. This is the second movement following the Wa Itha Al- Mawudatu Suilat piece. The work will be completed when I finish the third movement.